Poem: Classic Talk Radio

We used to stay up all hours
Talking about whatever came to mind
Silence was a stranger to us
Until it no longer was

When we were close enough to touch
The energy between us was enough
To light the entire city up
Until the distance killed the signal

I still try to send a signal through the noise
That you can pick up wherever you are
Leaving me wondering if I’m coming through
On these lonely days

I leave the radio on hoping to hear you
Coming through to me again
All I’m picking up is static even as I hold on
Trying to tune in to where you are

On clear moonless nights I drive out
To the riverside where we used to talk
Hoping out there I’ll find a connection
But all I find are fading ghosts of you 

Copyright © 2021 TJS Sherman All rights reserved.

One thought on “Poem: Classic Talk Radio

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started